first_imgFriday Mar 23, 2018 Jacob Stockdale picks up Player of the Championship after breakthrough campaign Ireland winger Jacob Stockdale has been named 2018 Natwest Player of the Championship following a record-breaking campaign that included seven tries and a Grand Slam. Stockdale secured the majority of fans’ votes.The Ulster star scored against England, Italy, Scotland and Wales during this year’s Championship, eclipsing the six tries set by Chris Ashton, Will Greenwood and Shane Williams.Playing in the Ulster Bank League with Ballynahinch RFC as recently as 2016, Stockdale’s progression has been incredible and his meteoric rise continues to gather pace with this prestigious accolade. The 21-year-old was a clear winner in the public vote, securing 32% of rugby fans’ votes.Ireland teammate Conor Murray was second with 18.2%, just edging Jonathan Sexton into third on 18%. Keith Earls garnered 14.5% of the votes, followed by Italy’s rising star, Matteo Minozzi, who earned 13.2%. France captain Guilhem Cuirado completed the line-up with 4.1%.VOTING PROCESSThe NatWest Player of the Championship shortlist was selected by a media panel of distinguished rugby writers and broadcasters from across the six nations.Each member of the panel submitted their top three nominations for the award, from which the six players with the most number of votes were identified for the shortlist. The panel were supplied with OPTA stats to assist their selections. The shortlist was open for public voting for two days.VOTING RESULTSPlayer                    Votes           PercentageJacob Stockdale        25,114           32%Conor Murray           14,278           18.2%Jonathan Sexton       14,163           18%Keith Earls               11,410           14.5%Matteo Minozzi         10,394           13.2%Guilhem Guirado        3,181            4.1%PREVIOUS WINNERS 2017 – Stuart Hogg (Scotland)2016 – Stuart Hogg (Scotland)2015 – Paul O’Connell (Ireland)2014 – Mike Brown (England)2013 – Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)2012 – Dan Lydiate (Wales)2011 – Andrea Masi (Italy)2010 – Tommy Bowe (Ireland)2009 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)2007 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)2006 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)2005 –  Martyn Williams (Wales)2004 – Gordon D’Arcy (Ireland)Stockdale was surprised by Iain Henderson, who gave him the award in front of their Ulster teammates.ADVERTISEMENT Posted By: rugbydump Share Send Thanks Sorry there has been an error Related Articles 81 WEEKS AGO scottish prop saves fire victim 84 WEEKS AGO New Rugby X tournament insane 112 WEEKS AGO Vunipola stands by his comments supporting… From the WebThis Video Will Soon Be Banned. Watch Before It’s DeletedSecrets RevealedUrologists Stunned: Forget the Blue Pill, This “Fixes” Your EDSmart Life ReportsYou Won’t Believe What the World’s Most Beautiful Girl Looks Like TodayNueeyDoctors Stunned: She Removes Her Wrinkles With This Inexpensive TipSmart Life ReportsIf You Have Ringing Ears Do This Immediately (Ends Tinnitus)Healthier Living30+ Everyday Items with a Secret Hidden PurposeNueeyThe content you see here is paid for by the advertiser or content provider whose link you click on, and is recommended to you by Revcontent. As the leading platform for native advertising and content recommendation, Revcontent uses interest based targeting to select content that we think will be of particular interest to you. We encourage you to view your opt out options in Revcontent’s Privacy PolicyWant your content to appear on sites like this?Increase Your Engagement Now!Want to report this publisher’s content as misinformation?Submit a ReportGot it, thanks!Remove Content Link?Please choose a reason below:Fake NewsMisleadingNot InterestedOffensiveRepetitiveSubmitCancellast_img