first_imgMORE: Watch ‘ChangeUp,’ a new MLB live whiparound show on DAZNThis season, the event will take place Monday, July 9, at 8 p.m. ET at Cleveland’s Progressive Field.Here’s all the information you need regarding the 2019 MLB Home Run Derby:Home Run Derby 2019: Live updates, highlights, commentary from MLB All-Star eventWhen is Home Run Derby 2019?The Home Run Derby is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 9, at Progressive Field in Cleveland. What TV channel will broadcast Home Run Derby 2019?ESPN will televise the Home Run Derby. The network will also stream the event online on and through the WatchESPN app. A tape-delayed broadcast of the annual celebrity softball game will follow.Home Derby 2019 full lineup, participantsHere are all of the seeds in order. A’s third baseman Matt Chapman replaced Christian Yelich (back injury) and took his No. 1 seed despite hitting fewer homers than a few other contenders.SeedContestantTeam2019 HRs*1Matt ChapmanA’s212Pete AlonsoMets283Josh BellPirates264Alex BregmanAstros235Joc PedersonDodgers206Ronald Acuna Jr.Braves207Carlos SantanaIndians198Vladimir Guerrero Jr.Blue Jays8* Through July 3, when seedings were announcedMLB Home Run Derby 2019 formatAn eight-player, three-round, single-elimination tournament will determine the Home Run Derby champion. First-round matchups are based on regular-season home run totals; Yelich, who leads MLB in home runs, will be the No. 1 seed and face the competitor with the least amount of long balls in the opening round. Players will have four minutes in each round to hit as many home runs as possible. They will receive 30 additional seconds in a round if they notch at least two home runs that travel more than 440 feet.Ties will be broken by a 90-second swing-off.Home Run Derby winnersThe last time Cleveland held the Home Run Derby (1997), Tino Martinez claimed the championship. He hit 16 homers in that competition, which followed a different format.YearPlayerTeam2018Bryce HarperWashington2017Aaron JudgeNY Yankees2016Giancarlo StantonMiami2015Todd FrazierCincinnati2014Yoenis CespedesOakland2013Yoenis CespedesOakland2012Prince FielderDetroit2011Robinson CanoNY Yankees2010David OrtizBoston2009Prince FielderMilwaukee2008Justin MorneauMinnesota2007Vladimir GuerreroLA Angels2006Ryan HowardPhiladelphia2005Bobby AbreuPhiladelphia2004Miguel TejadaBaltimore2003Garret AndersonAnaheim2002Jason GiambiNY Yankees2001Luis GonzalezArizona2000Sammy SosaChi Cubs1999Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle1998Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle1997Tino MartinezNY Yankees1996Barry BondsSan Francisco1995Frank ThomasChi White Sox1994Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle1993Juan GonzalezTexas1992Mark McGwireOakland1991Cal Ripken Jr.Baltimore1990Ryne SandbergChi Cubs1989Eric Davis (tie)Cincinnati1989Ruben Sierra (tie)Texas1988No Derby; rain The Home Run Derby has been an iconic part of MLB All-Star week for decades, but as long balls spike around the majors, it perhaps holds greater status today.Good hitters and home run hitters are becoming increasingly synonymous in modern baseball, and the event now showcases some of the purest swings in addition to the most powerful. Pete Alonso and Josh Bell, for example, are among the league’s leaders in batting average and homers. They’ll each be part of the eight-player tournament field.center_img 1987Andre DawsonChi Cubs1986Wally Joyner (tie)California1986Darryl Strawberry (tie)NY Mets1985Dave ParkerCincinnatilast_img