first_imgFRISCO, Texas – Jeremiah Briscoe’s humility shined on a weekly basis this season. At every opportunity, the Sam Houston State quarterback credited his team’s wide receivers and offensive linemen for his success. Briscoe’s leadership and powerful right arm meant even more to the nationally ranked Bearkats. Briscoe, from Houston, helped lead Sam Houston State to a 12-2 record and a semifinal appearance in the FCS playoffs. The 6-foot-3, 225-pounder leads the FCS in passing yards (5,003), passing yards per game (357.4), touchdown passes (45) and points responsible for (288). Said Sam Houston coach K.C. Keeler: “When your quarterback isn’t a diva and your quarterback doesn’t care about anything other than the Ws, it really makes your whole locker room in sync and worried about the same thing – about winning a ball game.” South Dakota senior quarterback Chris Streveler finished second and UC Davis junior wide receiver Keelan Doss was third in the voting. There were 25 finalists for the award named after the legendary College and Pro Football Hall of Fame running back. Briscoe claimed the 2017 STATS FCS Walter Payton Award as the national offensive player of the year Friday night at the national awards banquet in Frisco, Texas. He’s just the second two-time recipient of the 31-year-old award, joining Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards in 2008 and ’09. He threw for 9,605 yards and 102 touchdowns in his two Payton Award seasons. “I have some of the best players in the country around me,” he said. “And I think it just goes to show how well they make me look.” A national panel of 151 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Walter Payton Award. Past winners include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp.Courtesy of STATS FCSlast_img